Published: August 31, 2022

ILGA chair Philip Crawford named to lead newly formed NSW casino regulator

The current chair of the NSW Independent Liquor & Gaming Authority (ILGA), Philip Crawford, has been named Chief Commissioner of the newly established NSW Independent Casino Commission (NICC) ahead of its commencement next week.

The NSW state government this week named five casino commissioners to the new casino regulator, which has been formed under recommendations from the 2019 Bergin Inquiry into Crown Sydney.

“Mr Crawford has a comprehensive understanding of the regulatory issues facing modern casinos and the need to fundamentally reset the way they operate,” said Minister for Hospitality and Racing, Kevin Anderson.

“Under his leadership, NSW casinos will be monitored in line with the new laws and face strong disciplinary action for compliance failures, past and present.

“Mr Crawford will be supported by four commissioners who will transition from ILGA. Janine Rolfe, Murray Smith, Craig Sahlin and Stephen Parbery all have experience in casino regulation and other regulated industries.

“The NICC formally begins operations on 5 September and its most pressing task will be considering the findings of Adam Bell SC’s Star review and continuing the supervision and ongoing suitability assessment of Crown Sydney.”

The NICC was created under the Casino Control Act 1992 as a statutory body with a high level of independence around decision-making on licensing and disciplinary matters.

“Mr Crawford will work full-time as Chief Commissioner and in this role will continue to support ILGA as an ordinary board member to ensure consistency in approach,” Anderson said.

“The NICC will be a collaborative body, working with ILGA and Hospitality & Racing, and as part of a multi-agency coordination committee with NSW Police and the NSW Crime Commission to guide the regulatory efforts of both NICC and ILGA, and to identify potential law enforcement collaborations in areas such as money laundering.”

© Public Gaming Research Institute. All rights reserved.