The states that have legalized sports betting

Hits: 5418

The states that have legalized sports betting

Reproduced from American Gaming Association; Graphic: Axios Visuals

Since the demise of the federal ban on state-authorized sports betting 18 months ago, 18 states (plus Washington, D.C.) have joined Nevada in moving to legalize sports wagering.

 Driving the news: New Jersey sports bettors wagered $562+ million in November (86% via online bets), eclipsing the state's previous record of $487 million, set in October. Overall, sports betting has generated $4+ billion in wagers for New Jersey this year.

  • Legal (13 states): Arkansas, Delaware, Indiana, Iowa, Mississippi, Nevada, New Jersey, New York, New Mexico, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, West Virginia
  • Passed bill (6 states + D.C.): Colorado, Illinois, Montana, New Hampshire, North Carolina, Tennessee, Washington, D.C.

The others:

  • Active bills (4): Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Ohio
  • Failed legislation (19): Alabama, Arizona, California, Connecticut, Georgia, Hawaii, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Minnesota, Missouri, North Dakota, South Dakota, South Carolina, Texas, Vermont, Virginia, Washington
  • No bills in 2019 (8): Alaska, Florida, Idaho, Nebraska, Oklahoma, Utah, Wisconsin, Wyoming